Amazing Spiderman 546.
I was wrong about the reset being impermanent. Apparently Harry Osborn is back from the dead and no one, not NOBODY, knows Peter Parker is Spiderman. Although people still remember him being unmasked on TV somehow, because they went and reset one character's history without touching anyone elses with all the grace of a steam-powered bull painting easter eggs.
If I had to sum this issue up in a mantra, it would be: don't care, don't care, don't care. That's what was running through my mind as I desperately searched this pile of crap for some sign that the unfathomably retarded continuity semi-reset wasn't permanent. The whole comic is one exercise in irrelevance. I've seen more engauging episodes of the 90's Spiderman cartoon. The story involves Peter looking for a job and going to a club. Oh also they have a guy who is a villain but, get this, he dresses like Spiderman. Like, mistaken identitiy. I can see why they decided to get rid of Mary Jane if it would lead to wellsprings of genius such as that.
And the sly references to all the crap you just Dallased away? Not as funny as you think they are. Especially when the reader is making a tremendous effort to give a tinkers damn about any of the warmed over snorefest you're trying to pass off as a story. It's a little early and you're not nearly a good enough writer to be rubbing salt in that wound just yet.
I really don't get how all this bullshit is supposed to work. They make reference in this issue to Parkers previous job as a teacher, so apparently it's only the MJ stuff that's disappeared. But correct me if I'm wrong, but the presence of Mary Jane had if not a profound then at least a noticable effect on the events of the comics. Also how can Iron Man not know Spiderman's secret identity if Civil War is still supposed to have happened? So apparently we're expected to not think about it too much, and expecting that from comic fans is like expecting your cat to learn arabic because you leave Al Jazeera on all day while you're at work. No scratch that, it's like expecting your cat to learn Arabic on it's own.
It's really sad, Marvel was really starting to get interesting, they seemed less obsessed with maintaining the status quo, and it was making for better stories. I suppose it was only a matter of time before they thought of a way to ruin it in suitably spectacular fashion. And they always go after Spiderman first. It just wouldn't be Spiderman if it was readable for four consecutive issues.
I only seem to read Spiderman seriously when they're about to do something retarded with the character. I started reading it during the clone saga, got back into it just before Avengers Disassembled. After briefly giving up the title after Spiderman hatched out of the giant spider he turned into for, frankly, inadequately explored reasons, I came back just in time for The Other.
So here I am, fresh on the heels of Civil War and it's Cathartic half-brother World War Hulk once again reading Spiderman and lo and behold they found a way to top themselves. I want to sit in on the meetings the editorial staff at Marvel must have:
Editor 1: How about he falls in love with a bug-lady because of her bug pheromones, which somehow turns him into a giant spider, which somehow hatches into Spiderman again, but his powers work slightly differently.
Editor 2: I dunno, can we get Captain America in there? And maybe kill Hawkeye?
Editor 1: Let's kill all the Avengers.
Editor 1: We need to take the character in new and interesting directions. How about it turns out that he's made out of magic?
Editor 2: Yes! But then he finds out he's made of magic, so he turns into a caccoon which hatches into Spiderman again, but his powers work slightly differently.
Editor 1: Yeah we'll give him spears. Spider-bone-spears.
Editor 2: Just like a spider has.
Editor 1: How about we undo every major point of character development we've made in the past, oh lets say, three decades?
Editor 2: We'd have to handle something like that with a lot of finesse. Maybe "the devil did it"?
Editor 1: I love it. We'll take the story plot-point for plot-point from Hellblazer's "Dangerous Habits" storyline. Nobody reads Vertigo comics, so they'll never know.
Editor 2: Afterwards, his powers should work slightly differently.
Seriously though, I don't know who wrote Amazing Spiderman 546, and I don't care. What's really sad about this whole thing is I was really starting to enjoy Spiderman again. With his secret identity out and his open feud with the Iron Hand Of The Establishment the comic was forced to stop rehashing the same goddamn stories they've been telling for 40-whatever years. 4-comics by the dude from Babylon 5 later, and we're back to where we started, only worse.
Wake me when Mephisto hatches into Spiderman with his powers working slightly differently.
P.S. The back of the comic is full of lame 2-page-or-so stories using supporting characters. Apparently Mary Jane is now a superheroine called "Jackpot". Because, you know, they like to be thorough in their debasement of the series.